Diabetes Case Studychief Complaint My Left Foot Feels Weak And Numb I Have A Har 1

Diabetes Case Study

Chief Complaint

“My left foot feels weak and numb. I have a hard time pointing my toes up.”

History of Present Illness

D.T. is 42-year-old Caucasian woman who has had an elevated blood sugar and cholesterol 2 years ago but did not follow up with a clinical diagnostic work-up. She had participated in the state’s annual health screening program and noticed her fasting blood sugar was 160 and her cholesterol was 250. However, she felt “perfectly fine at the time” and did not want to take any more medications. Except for a number of “female infections,” she has felt fine recently.

Today, she presents to the clinic complaining that her left foot has been weak and numb for nearly 3 weeks and that the foot is difficult to flex. She denies any other weakness or numbness at this time. She does report that she has been very thirsty lately and gets up more often at night to urinate. She has attributed these symptoms to the extremely warm weather and drinking more water to keep hydrated. She has gained a total of 50 pounds since her last pregnancy 10 years ago, 20 pounds in the last 6 months alone.

Past Medical History

·         Seasonal allergic rhinitis (since her early 20s)

·         Breast biopsy positive for fibroadenoma at age 30

·         Gestational diabetes with second child 10 years ago

·         Multiple yeast infections during the past 3 years that she has self-treated with OTC antifungal creams and salt bath

·         Hypertension for 10 years

Past Surgical History

C-section 14 years ago

OB-GYN History

·         Menarche at age 11

·         Last pap smear 3 years ago

Family History

·         Type 2 DM present in older brother and maternal grandfather. Both were diagnosed in their late 40s. Brother takes both pills and shots.

·         Mother alive and well

·         Father has COPD

·         Two other siblings alive and well

·         All three children are alive and well

Social History

·         Married 29 years with 3 children; husband is a school teacher

·         Family lives in a four bedroom single family home

·         Patient works as a seamstress

·         Smokes 1 pack per day (since age 16) and drinks two alcoholic drinks 4 days per week

·         Denies illegal drug uses

·         Never exercises and has tried multiple fad diets for weight loss with little success. She now eats a diet rich in fats and refined sugars.

Allergies

NKDA

Medications

·         Lisinopril 10 mg daily

·         Loratadine 10 mg daily

Review of Systems

General

Admits to recent onset of fatigue

HEENT

Has awakened on several occasions with blurred vision and dizziness or lightheadedness upon standing: Denies vertigo, head trauma, ear pain, difficulty swallowing or speaking

Cardiac

Denies chest pain, palpitations, and difficulty breathing while lying down

Lungs

Denies cough, shortness of breath, and wheezing

GI

Denies nausea, vomiting, abdominal bloating or pain, diarrhea, or food intolerance, but admits occasional episodes of constipation

GU

Has experienced increased frequency and volumes of urination, but denies pain during urination, blood in the urine, or urinary incontinence

EXT

Denies leg cramps or swelling in the ankles and feet; has never experienced weakness, tingling or numbness in arms or legs prior to this episode

Neuro

Has never had a seizure and denies recent headaches

Derm

Has a rash under her bilateral breast and in groin area

Endocrine

Denies a history of goiter and has not experienced heat or cold intolerance

Vital Signs

BP 165/100, T 98 F, P 88 regular, HT 5 feet 4 inches, RR 20 non labored, WT 210 lbs

What you need to do:

·         Develop an evidence-based management plan.

·         Include any pertinent diagnostics.

·         Describe the patient education plan.

·         Include cultural and lifespan considerations.

·         Provide information on health promotion or health care maintenance needs.

·         Describe the follow-up and referral for this patient.

·         Prepare a 3–5-page paper (not including the title page or reference page).

Format

The paper should be no more than 3–5 pages (not including the title page and reference pages

Diabetes Case Study

Chief Complaint

“My left foot feels weak and numb. I have a hard time pointing my toes up.”

History of Present Illness

D.T. is 42-year-old Caucasian woman who has had an elevated blood sugar and cholesterol 2 years ago but did not follow up with a clinical diagnostic work-up. She had participated in the state’s annual health screening program and noticed her fasting blood sugar was 160 and her cholesterol was 250. However, she felt “perfectly fine at the time” and did not want to take any more medications. Except for a number of “female infections,” she has felt fine recently.

Today, she presents to the clinic complaining that her left foot has been weak and numb for nearly 3 weeks and that the foot is difficult to flex. She denies any other weakness or numbness at this time. She does report that she has been very thirsty lately and gets up more often at night to urinate. She has attributed these symptoms to the extremely warm weather and drinking more water to keep hydrated. She has gained a total of 50 pounds since her last pregnancy 10 years ago, 20 pounds in the last 6 months alone.

Past Medical History

·         Seasonal allergic rhinitis (since her early 20s)

·         Breast biopsy positive for fibroadenoma at age 30

·         Gestational diabetes with second child 10 years ago

·         Multiple yeast infections during the past 3 years that she has self-treated with OTC antifungal creams and salt bath

·         Hypertension for 10 years

Past Surgical History

C-section 14 years ago

OB-GYN History

·         Menarche at age 11

·         Last pap smear 3 years ago

Family History

·         Type 2 DM present in older brother and maternal grandfather. Both were diagnosed in their late 40s. Brother takes both pills and shots.

·         Mother alive and well

·         Father has COPD

·         Two other siblings alive and well

·         All three children are alive and well

Social History

·         Married 29 years with 3 children; husband is a school teacher

·         Family lives in a four bedroom single family home

·         Patient works as a seamstress

·         Smokes 1 pack per day (since age 16) and drinks two alcoholic drinks 4 days per week

·         Denies illegal drug uses

·         Never exercises and has tried multiple fad diets for weight loss with little success. She now eats a diet rich in fats and refined sugars.

Allergies

NKDA

Medications

·         Lisinopril 10 mg daily

·         Loratadine 10 mg daily

Review of Systems

General

Admits to recent onset of fatigue

HEENT

Has awakened on several occasions with blurred vision and dizziness or lightheadedness upon standing: Denies vertigo, head trauma, ear pain, difficulty swallowing or speaking

Cardiac

Denies chest pain, palpitations, and difficulty breathing while lying down

Lungs

Denies cough, shortness of breath, and wheezing

GI

Denies nausea, vomiting, abdominal bloating or pain, diarrhea, or food intolerance, but admits occasional episodes of constipation

GU

Has experienced increased frequency and volumes of urination, but denies pain during urination, blood in the urine, or urinary incontinence

EXT

Denies leg cramps or swelling in the ankles and feet; has never experienced weakness, tingling or numbness in arms or legs prior to this episode

Neuro

Has never had a seizure and denies recent headaches

Derm

Has a rash under her bilateral breast and in groin area

Endocrine

Denies a history of goiter and has not experienced heat or cold intolerance

Vital Signs

BP 165/100, T 98 F, P 88 regular, HT 5 feet 4 inches, RR 20 non labored, WT 210 lbs

What you need to do:

·         Develop an evidence-based management plan.

·         Include any pertinent diagnostics.

·         Describe the patient education plan.

·         Include cultural and lifespan considerations.

·         Provide information on health promotion or health care maintenance needs.

·         Describe the follow-up and referral for this patient.

·         Prepare a 3–5-page paper (not including the title page or reference page).

Format

The paper should be no more than 3–5 pages (not including the title page and reference pages

Duepapers
Calculate your paper price
Pages (550 words)
Approximate price: -

Why Work with Us

Top Quality and Well-Researched Papers

We always make sure that writers follow all your instructions precisely. You can choose your academic level: high school, college/university or professional, and we will assign a writer who has a respective degree.

Professional and Experienced Academic Writers

We have a team of professional writers with experience in academic and business writing. Many are native speakers and able to perform any task for which you need help.

Free Unlimited Revisions

If you think we missed something, send your order for a free revision. You have 10 days to submit the order for review after you have received the final document. You can do this yourself after logging into your personal account or by contacting our support.

Prompt Delivery and 100% Money-Back-Guarantee

All papers are always delivered on time. In case we need more time to master your paper, we may contact you regarding the deadline extension. In case you cannot provide us with more time, a 100% refund is guaranteed.

Original & Confidential

We use several writing tools checks to ensure that all documents you receive are free from plagiarism. Our editors carefully review all quotations in the text. We also promise maximum confidentiality in all of our services.

24/7 Customer Support

Our support agents are available 24 hours a day 7 days a week and committed to providing you with the best customer experience. Get in touch whenever you need any assistance.

Try it now!

Calculate the price of your order

Total price:
$0.00

How it works?

Follow these simple steps to get your paper done

Place your order

Fill in the order form and provide all details of your assignment.

Proceed with the payment

Choose the payment system that suits you most.

Receive the final file

Once your paper is ready, we will email it to you.

Our Services

No need to work on your paper at night. Sleep tight, we will cover your back. We offer all kinds of writing services.

Essays

Essay Writing Service

No matter what kind of academic paper you need and how urgent you need it, you are welcome to choose your academic level and the type of your paper at an affordable price. We take care of all your paper needs and give a 24/7 customer care support system.

Admissions

Admission Essays & Business Writing Help

An admission essay is an essay or other written statement by a candidate, often a potential student enrolling in a college, university, or graduate school. You can be rest assurred that through our service we will write the best admission essay for you.

Reviews

Editing Support

Our academic writers and editors make the necessary changes to your paper so that it is polished. We also format your document by correctly quoting the sources and creating reference lists in the formats APA, Harvard, MLA, Chicago / Turabian.

Reviews

Revision Support

If you think your paper could be improved, you can request a review. In this case, your paper will be checked by the writer or assigned to an editor. You can use this option as many times as you see fit. This is free because we want you to be completely satisfied with the service offered.